ITIL® 2011 Edition Foundation Training


This intensive course provides an overview of the IT Service Management Lifecycle, its supporting processes, functions and roles and the key concepts of an integrated IT Service Management framework, based on ITIL 2011 Edition. Successful completion of this course enables the candidate to enroll in the intermediate courses and advance to the ITIL Expert™ certificate. The course includes some homework on days 1 and 2.

The course consists of lectures and discussion, practical group exercises and individual practice exams questions, all of which allows delegates to apply the concepts of best practice guidance and test their understanding.

Course Duration
This is a demanding three-day course that includes the official accreditor’s certification exam.

What You Will Learn
This course focuses on the basic terminology, structure and basic concepts around the core principles and practices defined in the ITIL Service Lifecycle. This course has a number of study units. These include:

  •  The Service Lifecycle and Service Management as a practice:
    Understand the Service Lifecycle and the objectives and business value for each phase in the lifecycle; understand and articulate “service” and be able to explain the concept of Service Management as a practice.
  •  Key Principles, Models and Concepts:
    Understand the key principles, models and concepts that span all phases of the Service Lifecycle.
  •  Service Offerings & Agreements (SOA) Processes:
    Understand the goals, objectives, basic concepts and activities of the SOA processes. Each process is focused on defining, negotiating, measuring and controlling IT services at justifiable costs, which includes managing relationships with customers and suppliers. Service reporting is also considered. The processes include:
    •  Service Portfolio Management; Service Catalog Management
    •  Service Level Management; IT Financial Management
    •  Business Relationship Management; Supplier Management
  •  Planning, Protection & Optimization (PPO) Processes:
    Understand the goals, objectives, basic concepts and activities of the PPO processes. Each process is focused on the design, improvement and optimization of services. The processes include:
    •  Availability Management; Demand Management
    •  Capacity Management; IT Service Continuity Management
    •  Information Security Management; Design Coordination
    •  7-step Improvement Process
  •  Release, Control & Validation (RCV) Processes:
    Understand the goals, objectives, basic concepts and activities of the RCV processes. Each of the seven RCV processes work to manage changes within IT and IT Services in order to ensure services are delivered under agreed conditions. The output RCV is the implementation of new/changed services and then transitioning control to the operational groups. The processes include:
    • Service Asset & Configuration Management
    • Knowledge Management; Change Management
    • Transition Planning & Support; Release & Deployment  Management
    • Service Validation & Testing; Change Evaluation
  •  Operational Support & Analysis (OSA) Processes & Functions:
    Understand the goals, objectives, basic concepts and activities of the OSA processes and understand the roles, objectives and organizational overlap between the functions. The OSA processes are responsible for delivering and maintaining services to the required and agreed levels. To complete that goal, these processes focus on maintaining and restoring services. The processes are supported by a set of functions that represent the various technical groups that provide resources and capabilities to ensure service functionality. The processes and functions include:
    • Event Management; Incident Management
    • Problem Management; Request Fulfillment; Access Management
    • Service Desk; Technical Management; IT Operations Management, Application Management
  • Service Management Technology:
    Understand the use of technology in supporting the Service Lifecycle and Service Management.

None, though some experience in IT would be useful.

Who Should Attend
The ITIL Foundation course is designed for all those who have some responsibility for the design, delivery, support or operation of IT services and who would benefit by obtaining a good general understanding of IT Service Management best practices.

Benefits of Attending
The course aims to help students leverage ITIL concepts and practices in their daily work, while success in the examination allows them to progress – through the ITIL Service Capability and/or the ITIL Service Lifecycle modules – to achieving their ITIL Service Management ITIL Expert™ accreditation.

Professional Qualification
Students who achieve a mark of at least 65% (26/40) in the one hour, 40 multiple-choice question exam at the end of the course will receive an ITIL Foundation Certificate, which is a pre-requisite for all further professional training.

Course Documentation
Students receive a copy of the course slides plus a comprehensive set of explanatory notes and the ITIL Foundation Handbook.

ITIL® is a registered trade mark of AXELOS Limited

CloseReach Ltd. is an affiliate partner of DIYmonde Solutions Inc.